Remebering poet Malathy(sathara)

,,,

Rememebering poet Malathi(sathara)
Some writers hone their skills in the little magazines and then sell them in the mass media market. Again the criteria is fame and money. But in the present situation excepting a few old writers no one seems to amaze money through writing. Perhaps this is very special to the Tamil language magazines and publications.There are a few exceptions like Malathi(sathara) who had strayed into the mass media magazines and after getting fed up with the insipidity and mediocrity of the mass magazines they find out the route to serious literature. So Malathi came to serious literature after writing potboilers in popular weeklys and monthlys. But she had no regrets about her literary past.I knew here from 1997 when we first arranged the Women Writers’s Meet in Dharmapuri during that winter. She couldn’t attend that meet for personal reasons and apologized for more than half an hour.
I had not met her. But we continued our conversations over phone. Discussions rambled from recipes to mythology and feminism. She was a postgraduate in Chemistry from Presidency college Madras. Though she was proficient in English often she would say that she preferred reading a translated book in Tamil than reading the original. She said she was saving time on dictionary consultations. She had expressed her strong opinions on womanist poets, feminist poets and women poets. She was perfectly aware of the nuances of these categories and would defend a male point of view if it is sensible. She was a feminist without the anti-male stance.Ofcourse she had so many grudges against men-especially middle class men-but expressed them without the least hostility.
When I anthologized Atamanam’s Complete works for a publisher, I decided to meet Atmanam’s family in person and get the agreement form signed for the publisher. Only this time I sought Malathi’s help to locate Atamanam’s brother Mr.Ragunandhan’s residence. We spent the evening with Atmanam’s brother and his daughters and his ageing mother.
In the mean while Malathy had put together her second book of poems(Thanal Kodi Pookkal) and wanted my introduction. Though I had accepted the assignment I was a bit hesitant because of the mixed quality of her diction and and uneven quality of her poems. But I did like atleast a bunch of them from that collection. But I had inordinately delayed writing the introduction becaue of my mood swings. I felt sorry that I had not done full justice to her work. But she said she was happy.
Before she left for Sathara(Maharashtra) on transfer she had given me a wonderful oppurtunity of listening to Andal’s Thiruppavai everyday over phone during Margazhi. I think we never missed a day or a pasuram. Her enunciation part of Andal will be more lively and enthralling. I heard that the recorded version of her rendering is available in cassette form. But I failed to get one from her. Now someone should enquire either her husband Mr.Valeeswaran or her daughter Ms.Chandni.
When she returned to Bangalore telephones circle after 3 years her health had deteriorated. She had nephrological complications and there were so many proscriptions in her diet. I felt sorry for her for she was a gourmet.
Her mother is a writer and an excellent cook. Her mother’s short stories can be read even now without the feeling of staleness.She is also a great host.
Before her last days she bought a flat in Bangalore and our families frequently met in her house. On one those evening meetings in her house she made me sit after coffee and read that small review she wrote for my book Nadodi Manam.
But I still feel sorry for missing her funeral.
*I should personally thank Mr.Taj for making me write this blog since I read Malathy’s review of my book which Mr.Taj re-blogged from Thinnai.

பற்றி brammarajan
poet,translator,editor,critic,essayist, published 7 collections of poems an introductory book on Ezra Pound Edited SamaKala Ulagakkavithai(Contemporay World poetry) Guest Editor for Tamil museindia.com

மறுமொழியொன்றை இடுங்கள்

